SCENES FROM THE SURROUND

I emerge in the distance

between call and response

 

Unsure of the path

I veer towards the cliff

 

Path or not

my legs keep moving

 

Voice or not

the words keep coming

 

In the deeps of night

the soul breaks through

 

Comes

A day like no other

 

Make it so!

Impersonating dawn

 

this dull dream

fades

 

On the well cut grass

the red van

 

spews fumes

Through the house window

 

images flicker

Where I came and went

 

comes a day like any other

South I walk, east

 

I turn

to the peacock

 

feathered

sky

 

All along the tree lined street,

the imperturbable garbage cans

 

stand sentry

In her basement trap

 

the scorned

tiger

 

paces

Here where anything can arise

 

heat holds sway

In day long distance smoke and flames

 

filch the air

Out of whack the elements

 

collide, slowly slides

the noncommittal moon

 

East to West.

Within the battered expanse

 

breath

cools

 

and delivers

life

 

North, the banked clouds

in dusk’s blue light

 

still

into night

 

A Himalayan range

if you see it so

 

Not yet settled, not yet anywhere

With breath, the rhythm

 

With voice, a companion

Hawks circle above

 

None of them

drawn to me, none of them

 

know my name

Out of place, enmeshed in time

 

My heart

a clawed fist

 

This habit of form

and name,

 

of call and response,

steadies

 

and soothes

I keep it close

 

I listen

when it’s gone

 

Leave a Reply

