EYE HAWK

The hawk that swooped from the poplar

lifting the black baseball hat from my head

looped back to his nest

 

Drawing blood this time, the hawk that swooped from the poplar

lifting my black baseball hat from my head

headed east into the distance

 

The hawk that swooped from the poplar

brushed my back

 

The hawk that swooped from the poplar

flew low over my head

 

The hawk that swooped from the poplar

made me duck

 

The hawk that swooped from the poplar

turned and turned above me

 

The hawk that swooped from the poplar

made me crouch

 

The hawk that swooped from the poplar

rose with the lifting of the bamboo pole above my head

 

The hawk that swooped from the poplar

looped and turned and swooped low again

 

The hawk that swooped from the poplar

stayed on the branch chichicihri hri hri hri

when he saw me enter the yard

 

The hawk that swooped from the poplar

swooped low as I stood on the roof

and rose and rose

with the lifting of the bamboo pole above my head

 

22 times during the year of the earthquake

the hawk that swooped from the poplar

drew me out… out of my body, following him

 

back to the trees

or further still to the wide open sky

 

Leave a Reply

