BEFORE THE INK RUNS OUT

Let me catch your likeness

before the ink runs out. Let me put out my eyes

to see more clearly. If I lie down here,

 

will they cart me away? Or notice in passing

that I never was? Where is this place

I no longer recognize? If the sky were a notebook,

 

I’d erase the stars. But seeing it is day,

the sun beat me to it. On that bare rise three houses stood

Beneath a house-sized boulder, a bare ankle

 

and a red running shoe.

Let me clutch your arms and lift you free

Let me catch your likeness

 

before the ink runs out

 

May 26, 2015

Leave a Reply

