EACH TIME

Night’s hooves hit hard

Each time the rain stopped I woke

Deep in this cave a candle burns

Hand cupped to my ear I am born again

Too near the soot images

blister my eyes. Almost deaf, I hear the Buddha laugh

In the moon-squandered hours

trees shuffle by, crouched low

By the water’s edge, dragon flies

hover. Two steps in, reeds stand on tip toe

Falling through my footsteps, I’ve finally

caught up with myself. The rain galloping hard again

Set free from dream, my body washes up on a far shore

Stunning blue light

In between, the silence we share

Blood warm

senses never sleeping

Leave a Reply

