SOLES

Seamlessly with the world
in touch
with every stand I take

Place
marks itself
in you

I know well
where I have been,
as I reach down

through pores and skin
assured to be here
not there.

I never go anywhere
without your
persistent and patient

presence.
And at night when restless
with thought

I lie down
retracing the map of my day
to the farthest

reach of my being,
spreading
and relaxing my toes

like a hawk
drawing in his wings
on landing

Breathing out
and in…I drift… in and
out… through

the soles of my feet
out… in…
I breathe in the earth

in and out…
till walking on clouds
out… in…

I breathe in balance
Out…
in… and ease

Leave a Reply

