MAY I LISTEN

When I look at you
When I look towards another
I step back

When I appear
to be listening to what is said
I am falling inward.

May I learn to listen,
not just with the ears and head,
but, fully present.

May I learn to see
with a wide angled lens,
sensing everything

in its place,
without naming
and judging.

It’s not just you or I
gazing towards each other,
listening and speaking

We are here
in a place we share.
Let this place,

this sharing,
be a part of our listening
and seeing.

Here, embodied here
among others, may we sit
in silence, and speak

from within. Wherever we gather,
however we gather,
may we speak from within

Leave a Reply

